- How do I pay for your legal services?
- Do I need a lawyer for a DUI charge?
- What are the penalties for a DUI conviction?
- Do I need a lawyer for a general reckless driving charge?
- What are the penalties for a general reckless driving conviction?
- What are the different types of reckless driving charges in Virginia?
- What are DMV demerits and how can they affect me?
- In what situations will a minimum sentence on assault be passed?
- Can I get my criminal record expunged?
- Where do I find more information on Virginia Courts, DUI, Traffic Offenses and other resources?
You have everything to gain and nothing to lose—knowledgeable and aggressive representation is just a call or click away
If you are facing a criminal or serious traffic charge in Alexandria, Arlington, Caroline, Culpeper, Fairfax, Fluvanna, Fredericksburg, Goochland, Hanover, King George, Louisa, Richmond, Orange, Spotsylvania, or Stafford, Virginia, contact Susan F. Fremit, P.C. now for a free consultation.
Preferred by clients, Susan F. Fremit, P.C. currently takes cash and checks.
Although the cards may seem stacked against you, DWI/DUI convictions have very serious and negative consequences that can impact you for the rest of your life. An experienced attorney can employ many methods for disputing and refuting key evidence that can lead to a conviction. Your best defense to a charge of DWI/DUI in Virginia is to hire an experienced attorney to fight for you. Learn the 10 reasons to retain a lawyer if charged with DUI/DWI under s. 18.2-266 of the Virginia Code.
Penalties for a DUI conviction are dependent upon a number of factors, including: your blood alcohol content, the number previous DUI convictions, how long ago each of the previous DUI convictions were, and if you had minors in the car at the time of the incident.
As DUI penalties get increasing harsher with each conviction, especially within a five year period, learn more about DUI penalties and how an experienced traffic attorney like Susan F. Fremit can fight for you.
General reckless driving convictions have very serious and negative consequences that can impact you for the rest of your life. Learn the 10 reasons to retain a traffic attorney if charged with general reckless driving under § 46.2-852 of the Virginia Code.
In Virginia, a general reckless driving is a major moving traffic violation, which is generally a more serious offense than careless driving, improper driving, or driving without due care and attention. Penalties can include a license suspension, fines, court costs, DMV points and a criminal record for a class I misdemeanor.
Learn more about general reckless driving penalties and how an experienced traffic attorney like Susan F. Fremit can fight for you.
Any of the different types of reckless driving charges can happen to the best of people with the best of intentions. It can happen as an accident or even an oversight. Before you operate a vehicle on a Virginia road, learn the 10 most common types of reckless driving charges in Virginia as convictions will have a negative impact on your driving record for 11 years, including general reckless driving, reckless driving passing a stopped school bus, and reckless driving by speed.
Traffic violations incur demerit points from the Virginia DMV. Although DMV demerit points “only” remain on your record for two years from the date you commit the offense, the conviction can remain on your record for 11 years or more.
If you accumulate 18 demerits within 12 consecutive months or 24 demerits within 24 consecutive months, the consequence is a mandatory license suspension period followed by a period of probation in accordance with the provisions of § 46.2-499 of the Virginia Code. Some examples of the number of demerits for speeding are:
- Speeding 1-9 mph above the posted speed limit: conviction results in 3 demerits
- Speeding 10-19 mph above the posted speed limit: conviction results in 4 demerits
- Speeding 20 mph or more above the posted limit: conviction results in 6 demerits
Minimum mandatory jail sentences will be passed if the assault:
- Involved the victim being selected by virtue of his or her race, religious conviction, color, or national original. Minimum sentence increases to six months in jail, with 30 days of that being mandatory;
- Is on a teacher, principal, or guidance counselor, while engaged in his/her duties as such. Minimum sentence increases to 15 days in jail, with two days of that mandatory; or
- Is on a judge, police officer, correctional officer, volunteer firefighter, or member of a volunteer rescue squad, while engaged in the performance of his/her public duties. The assault in this case is a class 6 felony, which results in a minimum mandatory jail term of six months.
In Virginia, you cannot seal or expunge criminal record convictions. An expungement can only be obtained in Virginia if:
- you are found not guilty by the court (acquittal or dismissal);
- the charges are withdrawn (nolle prosequi) by the Court on a motion by the Commonwealth;
- your name is used in error; or
- you obtained an absolute pardon from a Virginia Governor.
However, if you were convicted of a felony, depending on the amount of time that has passed, you may be eligible to request a restoration of your rights. Read the Guide I developed to provide easy-to-understand information about what you need to know about criminal record expungements in Virginia.
Where do I find more information on Virginia Courts, DUI/DWI and Traffic Offenses and other resources?
From experience, the Law Firm of Susan F. Fremit, P.C. believes that research and attention to detail is key to a strong defense. A list of useful links is maintained based on feedback from clients.